Assault Defense Attorney in Peoria
Were you charged with assaulting another person? You could be facing felony charges.
Contact Attorney Christopher McCall for top legal defense.
Our Peoria criminal defense firm delivers client-centered representation,
the tenacious advocacy that focuses only on getting the best possible
result. Additionally, our founding attorney is a
former prosecutor, a defender with key insights into how a prosecutor will try to convict you.
In recognition of his skill, Attorney McCall has received numerous awards,
- Top 40 Under 40 from ASLA, an honor given to less than 2% of lawyers in
- The Client's Choice Award By Avvo®, as well as a perfect 10/10
rating in Criminal Defense
Listed among Rising Stars? by
When you choose an attorney to defend you, don't settle for anything
less than the best! McCall Law Offices, P.C. is the right choice for you.
Backed by over a decade of proven, award-winning experience, you can count
on our legal team to provide the zealous defense you deserve.
Simple Assault Illinois
According to Illinois law, assault occurs when a person intentionally causes
someone else to fear bodily harm. These can include actions such as threats,
verbal abuse, raising fists, and throwing objects. Simple assault is a
Class C misdemeanor and penalties can include:
- 30-days in jail
- Fines of up to $1,500
What Are the Penalties for Aggravated Assault in Illinois?
A simple assault charge can escalate to an aggravated assault charge if
you are accused of using a deadly weapon, or if you are charged with assaulting
a victim who was handicapped, a senior citizen, a police officer, a transit
employee, or a sports official. The penalties for aggravated assault include:
Aggravated Assault: Can be a Class A misdemeanor, Class 4 felony, or a Class 3 felony. This
could carry penalties of up to 5 years in prison and fines of up to $25,000.
What is the Penalty For Battery in Illinois?
The penalty for a simple battery in Illinois is a fine of up to $2,500
and a jail sentence of up to one year. Aggravated battery could be charged
if the person made physical contact with the intent to do serious bodily
harm or if the victim was a senior citizen or a pregnant woman, among
other special classes of victims.
Is Spitting on Someone Assault in Illinois?
Spitting on someone in Illinois can be considered a battery even if there
was no bodily injury. The contact just has to be offensive or provoking,
without consent, and done intentionally to rise a battery offense.
You Cannot Afford Delay—Call (309) 948-5908 Now!
In order to give yourself the best chances of preserving your freedoms
and protecting your future, you need a
Peoria criminal defense attorney in your corner as soon as possible. At our law firm, you can review your
options and potential defense strategies in a
FREE consultation. You have no reason to hesitate. Start your assault defense case today.