Peoria Assault Defense Lawyer
Were you charged with assaulting another person? You could be facing felony charges. Contact Attorney Christopher McCall for top legal defense.
Our Peoria criminal defense firm delivers client-centered representation, the tenacious advocacy that focuses only on getting the best possible result. Additionally, our founding attorney is a former prosecutor, a defender with key insights into how a prosecutor will try to convict you.
In recognition of his skill, Attorney McCall has received numerous awards, including:
- Top 40 Under 40 from ASLA, an honor given to less than 2% of lawyers in the nation
- The Client's Choice Award By Avvo®, as well as a perfect 10/10 rating in Criminal Defense
- Listed among Rising Stars? by Super Lawyers®
When you choose an attorney to defend you, don't settle for anything less than the best! McCall Law Offices, P.C. is the right choice for you. Backed by over a decade of proven, award-winning experience, you can count on our legal team to provide the zealous defense you deserve.
Review your options with a Peoria assault defense lawyer. Click here to request your FREE consultation!
What is Simple Assault in Illinois?
According to Illinois law, assault occurs when a person intentionally causes someone else to fear bodily harm. These can include actions such as threats, verbal abuse, raising fists, and throwing objects. Simple assault is a Class C misdemeanor and penalties can include:
- 30-days in jail
- Fines of up to $1,500
What Are the Penalties for Aggravated Assault in Illinois?
A simple assault charge can escalate to an aggravated assault charge if you are accused of using a deadly weapon, or if you are charged with assaulting a victim who was handicapped, a senior citizen, a police officer, a transit employee, or a sports official. The penalties for aggravated assault include:
Aggravated Assault: Can be a Class A misdemeanor, Class 4 felony, or a Class 3 felony. This could carry penalties of up to 5 years in prison and fines of up to $25,000.
What is the Penalty For Battery in Illinois?
The penalty for a simple battery in Illinois is a fine of up to $2,500 and a jail sentence of up to one year. Aggravated battery could be charged if the person made physical contact with the intent to do serious bodily harm or if the victim was a senior citizen or a pregnant woman, among other special classes of victims.
Is Spitting on Someone Assault in Illinois?
Spitting on someone in Illinois can be considered a battery even if there was no bodily injury. The contact just has to be offensive or provoking, without consent, and done intentionally to rise a battery offense.
In order to give yourself the best chances of preserving your freedoms and protecting your future, you need a Peoria criminal defense attorney in your corner as soon as possible. At our law firm, you can review your options and potential defense strategies in a FREE consultation. You have no reason to hesitate. Start your assault defense case today.
He is very straight foreword and knowledgeable about the law.- Steve
Very punctual and keeps his word! If he says he will do something he does it! A great person to have on your side- Kaylah G.
Honest initial appraisal of your case, follow up emails and a sincere personable approach.- Anonymous
Mr. Mccall handled my case very swiftly and I am very satisfied with the outcome.- Amber A.
This practice is incredible. There is no question that this is one of the best practices I have ever come across.- Jaymiya C.
I was happy with the results of my case and would recommend his office to anyone.- Kelly K.